Return to Headlines

HHS IB Program: Nearly 270 Students Strong

Hoover HS IB Students

HOOVER - Sixty juniors were officially welcomed into the Hoover High School International Baccalaureate (IB) Program in late October as part of the school’s annual IB Pinning Ceremony.  This brings the program’s total number of students to 268 (grades 9-12) for the 2019-2020 School Year. 

Junior inductees were pinned by their senior counterparts as part of the ceremony, held on campus before an audience of parents, faculty, and administrators.  Teacher Melissa Hamley coordinates the IB Program.

“This event is one of my favorites because it is the only time that all of our IB juniors and seniors are in the same room at the same time,” Hamley said. “I am proud to be a part of this program and I love its diversity, sense of community and opportunities for student leadership.”

Hamley says the pinning ceremony exists as a way to officially recognize those students who have moved from the Pre-IB classes into the official IB program, adding that select students take two or more IB courses in grades 11 and 12; while others pursue the full IB diploma track taking multiple IB courses across various subject areas.  

Like other advanced programs offered at Hoover City Schools, IB promotes critical thinking and prepares students for college and beyond. IB also provides students with a unique community of supportive learners and friends, giving them a focus on international-mindedness through the diversity of peers and assignments requiring students to examine perspectives from various cultures.

“We recognize [parents] for the support they provide to help children be so successful,” Hamley said. “[We hope students] wear their pins proudly for the next two school years until it is time to prepare for graduation.” 

Hoover High School IB faculty includes Katie Belcher, Brad Coltrane, Heather Darling, Laura Entrekin, Thea Ford, Connar Franklin, Anthony Hamley, Melissa Hamley, LaShawnda Harris, Jennifer Lipscomb, Reed Lochamy, Nancy Malone, Dawn McCarver, Paul McEwan, Melissa Moore, William Richardson, Joshua Rutsky, Amanda Slay, Amy Tew, Matt Walker, and Dale Windle.