Return to Headlines

National Merit Semifinalists Announced

September 14, 2018

(HCS) - The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) has announced the names of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 64th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title. The release is made available here to provide information about the National Merit Scholarship Program.

From Hoover High School: George Chen, Will Couch, Emily Hagood, Shehzan Maredia, Anna Muthalaly, Abhinav Venkatesan, and Ronald Yuan

From Spain Park High School: Zachary Shaw, Rory Luthin, William Schoel, Anastasia Zellner, Lauren Choi, Manish Nagaraj, Benjamin Hartwiger, Bryce Thornton

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program.  Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 410 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence. See the full NMSC news release.

Hoover High School National Merit Semifinalists
Hoover High School Semifinalists

Spain Park High School National Merit Semifliasts
Spain Park High School Semifinalists