Hoover City Schools

2015 Award Winners Announced During AETA Fall Symposium back button

News Image

10-09-2015 (HCS) - The Alabama Education Technology Association conducted its 16th Annual Fall Symposium from September 26-30 at the Perdido Beach Resort Hotel. Over 250 Alabama educators attended this conference which provides professional development and networking in all areas of technology leadership and expertise.

During the conference, three outstanding individuals were recognized for their excellence in leadership and service.

Anthony Kingston, Technology Coordinator at Alabaster City Schools, was recognized as this year's Sally Moore Award winner. Mr. Kingston has served in technology for many years, serving as Director of Technology for the Jacksonville City Schools for over 16 years prior to his recent move to Alabaster. During his tenure at Jacksonville, he initiated a "One to World" iPad project during which time the system applied and was awarded the Apple Distinguished Program Award. Anthony was named as the 2015 Chiquita Marbury Technology Innovation Award Winner for District Technology Coordinators, an award given by the Alabama State Department of Education in June during its state technology conference. He  is a longtime member of the AETA and has previously served the Association as Region 3 Representative.

Sally Moore was a beloved technology coordinator who passed away too soon. AETA decided to honor her memory by establishing the Sally Moore Award. Each year this award is presented to an active AETA member who has shown a long term dedication to promoting technology in K-12 education and has gone "above and beyond" in supporting technology in their school district and in Alabama. The recipient exhibits extraordinary leadership qualities while willing sharing personal successes (and failures) with others. Mr. Kingston, as recipient of this award, will receive a $1,000 scholarship to be awarded to a deserving student.

Kelli Lane, Technology Integration Coordinator at Hoover City Schools, was honored with the 2015 Emerging Leadership Award. This award is presented to an individual who is committed to motivate and instigate transformation in their school district. Kelli was nominated for this award by one of her peers at the Hoover City School System, and her nomination was approved by the superintendent and the district CTO.

Mrs. Lane has long exuded a passion for the field of technology in education and certainly demonstrates these qualities. In fact, she has recently taken on a new leadership role in the Association's by joining the Executive Board as Vice-President for Professional Development. In this newly created position, she will oversee the development of the AETA credentialing process and present the final plan to the Alabama State Department of Education for approval. She is obviously a great choice for this role and her recognition as an emerging leader in the Association is well-deserved.

Our third award winner is Bryan Phillips, who was honored with the 2015 Making IT Happen Award. This award, which was established in 1995, is recognized internationally and designed to recognize educators in the field of educational technology in K-12 schools for their commitment and innovation. The spirit of the Making IT Happen award supports the vision of ISTE (International Society of Technology in Education) of a world in which all learners thrive, achieve and contribute. As a part of this recognition, Bryan was presented a customized Making IT Happen jacket along with a $1,000 scholarship to be awarded to a deserving student.

After serving Hoover City Schools as Instructional Technology Specialist and Technology Coach, as well as Network Administrator, Bryan became the Chief Technology Officer for the system in 2010. He has been a member of the AETA for many years, has served on the AETA board as Region 5 Representative and currently serves as Media Chair for the organization.

The AETA is grateful to Awards Chair Tim Southerland, Technology Coordinator for Hartselle City Schools, for his dedication and service to the Association in this important role.

The AETA is an organization comprised of professionals who work primarily in K-12 educational technology in Alabama public school systems.  The purpose of the Association is to promote the positive impact of technology in education. To accomplish this purpose, our members seek to share information and educate policy-makers.

For more information about these awards you may visit our Awards section of the website. More photos of the award winners and scenes of the conference may be viewed from our Photo Galleries.

Contact Webmaster

Hoover City Schools
2810 Metropolitan Way, Hoover, Ala. 35243

If you need assistance accessing content on this website, please call 205-439-1000

Get Adobe Reader