Hoover City Schools

HCS Board of Education Recognizes NMSC Semifinalists back button

News Image

Spain Park High School National Merit Semifinalists


Hoover High School National Merit Semifinalists

05-October-2015 (Evanston, Illinois) - The Hoover Board of Education recognized Hoover High School and Spain Park High School National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) Semifinalists at its October Regular Board Meeting.  Officials with the National Merit Scholarship Program announced in September that there are approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 61st annual National Merit Scholarship Program; fourteen across Hoover City Schools.

These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,400 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition, including completion of the National Merit Scholarship application and take the Stanford Achievement Test (S.A.T.) – scoring a minimum of 1980.

"It is not just a test score that defines future success for these students. It is also the hard work and proven ability shown throughout their educational career, which prepared them to score in the top 1% of the nation on a standardized test, that that will ensure continued success in college," Cindy Bond, Hoover High School College and Career Specialist, said.

About 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title. NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 440 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.

National Merit Scholarships

Three types of National Merit Scholarships will be offered in the spring of 2016. Every Finalist will compete for one of 2,500 National Merit® $2500 Scholarships that will be awarded on a state-representational basis. About 1,000 corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship Awards will be provided by approximately 250 corporations and business organizations for Finalists who meet their specified criteria, such as children of the grantor’s employees or residents of communities where sponsor plants or offices are located. In addition, about 190 colleges and universities are expected to finance some 3,900 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards for Finalists who will attend the sponsor institution.

National Merit Scholarship winners of 2016 will be announced in four nationwide news releases beginning in April and concluding in July. These scholarship recipients will join more than 315,000 other distinguished young people who have earned the Merit Scholar title.

The National Merit® Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®)—a test which serves as an initial screen of approximately 1.5 million entrants each year—and by meeting published program entry and participation requirements.

Disclaimer from National Merit Scholarship Corporation:

*Using numbers of Semifinalists to compare high schools, educational systems, or states will result in erroneous conclusions. The National Merit® Scholarship Program honors individual students who show exceptional academic ability and potential for success in rigorous college studies. The program does not measure the quality or effectiveness of education within a school, system, or state. For more information about the competition, please visit NMSC’s website at www.nationalmerit.org

Juhee Agrawal - Hoover High School
Nathaniel Farnlacher - Hoover High School
Connor P. Jones - Hoover High School
Uzma Z. Nur - Hoover High School
Daniel S. Phillips - Hoover High School
Hyun Joon Shin - Hoover High School
Stanley Badio - Spain Park High School
Christopher Breaux - Spain Park High School
Katherine Hunter - Spain Park High School
Austin Peinhardt - Spain Park High School
Stephen Ritchey - Spain Park High School
Zoe Shore - Spain Park High School
Peyton Spencer - Spain Park High School
Blair Williams - Spain Park High School

Contact Webmaster

Hoover City Schools
2810 Metropolitan Way, Hoover, Ala. 35243

If you need assistance accessing content on this website, please call 205-439-1000

Get Adobe Reader