Hoover City Schools

HCS Athletic Director Selected for 25th Class of AHSAA Sports Hall of Fame back button

News Image

19 Nov 2014 (MONTGOMERY) – Twelve major contributors to prep athletics in Alabama have been selected to the 25th class of the Alabama High School Sports Hall of Fame, including recently retired Hoover High School Athletics Director (AD) Myra Miles.

Considered one of the top high school administrators in the nation as evidenced by her many peer-based awards, Miles served as athletic director at Hoover High School from 2008-2014 after serving one year as interim AD. She also taught and coached at Hoover from 2002-2007. During her tenure, Hoover captured more than twenty state championships in ten different sports.

Her first teaching/coaching assignment was at Haleyville High School (1984-88), followed by stops at Brooks (1989-99), St. James (1999-2000) and Coffee (2000-02). She coached volleyball, softball and girls’ basketball and taught physical education during her teaching/coaching tenure.   Her 1987 volleyball team at Haleyville won the Class 4A state championship in 1987 and finished runner-up in 1985 and 1986, her softball team won the Class 4A state title at Brooks in 1994. Her softball career record was 546-201, volleyball career record was 355-152 and basketball career record was 192-124 – a total of 1,062 prep wins in three sports.

Miles, 53, served on the AHSAA Central Board of Control from 2012-14, was president of the AHSADCA (2013-14) and an officer for five years.  She has been active working with special needs students and Special Olympics and helps sponsor a fishing trip for special needs children in Eutaw, Alabama annually.

Miles is a graduate of Bradshaw High School (1979) in Florence and the University of North Alabama (1984).  She also attended Freed-Hardeman College.

The 2015 class, which includes coaches, administrators, officials, media and others, will be inducted at a special Silver Anniversary banquet commemorating all 25 years of the Hall of Fame at the Renaissance Hotel at the Convention Center in Montgomery on March 23, 2015.

Other selections include tennis coach Nancy Becker, basketball coaches Steve Jefferson, Jack Doss and Bobby Wright, football coaches Steve Rivers, Doug Goodwin and John Tatum, track official Houston Young, and administrators Alan Mitchell and Ron Ingram. Selected in the “Old Timer” category was longtime Geneva County football coach James D. Chesteen.

The 18-member Hall of Fame Committee made the selections from the 50 nominations on the Hall of Fame ballot. The Hall of Fame is located at the Alabama High School Athletic Association (AHSAA) office in Montgomery.

Sponsors of the Hall of Fame program are the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association (AHSADCA) and the AHSAA. The corporate sponsors are Cadence Bank, Coca-Cola, EBSCO Media, Encore Rehabilitation, Farmers Insurance, Russell Athletic, TeamIP and Wilson Sporting Goods.

To order tickets ($35 each), mail requests along with check or money order (payable to AHSADCA) to: Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association, P. O. Box 242367, Montgomery, AL 36124. Additional information is available at 334-263-6994. 

Contact Webmaster

Hoover City Schools
2810 Metropolitan Way, Hoover, Ala. 35243

If you need assistance accessing content on this website, please call 205-439-1000

Get Adobe Reader