Hoover City Schools

Hoover Buccaneers Selected as 2013 USA High School Football National Champions back button

News Image

8-Jan-2013 (HCS) - USA Football Network, Inc. announced today Hoover High School (AL) and St. John Bosco (Bellflower, CA) have been named the USA High School Football, Inc. national champions for the 2013 season. For the first time since its inception in 1995, the national poll was separated into Public School and Non-Public School Divisions. Journalists of the national broadcast and print media as well as members of the Football Writers of America, New York Football Writers Association, New England Football Writers Association, Philadelphia-Area Football Writers along with Midwestern, Southeast and Western Football Writers organizations participated in the selection process.

Head coach Josh Niblett's Hoover Buccaneers defeated the Auburn Tigers 20-3 to win the Alabama Class 6A title, ending its season 15-0 with a 30-game winning streak. The Bucs have been recognized with the USA High School Football Public Division national title. Niblett and his squad will be presented the USA Football Network Trophy by the Honorable Jack Williams (Dist. 47) of the Alabama House of Representatives at the halftime ceremonies of the 20th USA Football Bowl, the nation’s third oldest college senior all-star game behind the East – West Shrine Game and Senior Bowl on Monday, January 20, 2014 at Hoover Metropolitan Stadium in Hoover, Alabama.

With more than 16,000 fans in the stands, head coach Jason Negro's Braves, loaded with Division I prospects, struck early in defeating four-time defending California champion and perennial national power De La Salle of Concord (CA) 20-14 to end the Spartans 40-game winning streak. Up front in the trenches, the Braves dominated, led by senior Damien Mama (6-5, 350) along with juniors Zachary Robinson (6-5, 306) and Matt Katnik (6-2, 296) to claim the California State Championship awarded by Cal-Hi Sports and, earn the 2014 USA High School Football National Non-Public School title. De Le Salle finished fifth in the final Non-Public Poll

The USA High School Football final Top 50 Polls for the Public and Non-Public Divisions may be viewed at http://www.usahighschoolfootbal.com.

USA High School Football, Inc. Final Season Polls (1995 to Date)

2012 – John Curtis Christian High School Patriots (River Ridge, LA) 14-0
2011 – Don Bosco Prep Ironmen (Ramsey, NJ) 11-0
2010 – St. Edward High School Eagles (Lakewood, OH ) 15-0
2009 – Don Bosco Prep Ironmen (Ramsey, NJ) 12-0
2008 – St. Thomas Aquinas Raiders (Fort Lauderdale, FL) 15-0
2007 – De La Salle Spartans (Concord, CA) 13-0
2006 – Carroll Dragons (Southlake, TX) 16-0
2005 – St. Xavier Bombers (Cincinnati, OH) 15-0
2004 – Independence Patriots (Charlotte, NC) 15-0
2003 – De La Salle Spartans (Concord, CA) 13-0
2002 – Parkview Panthers (Lilburn, GA) 15-0
2001 – Jenks Trojans (Jenks, OK) 13-0
2000 – Cathedral Prep Ramblers (Erie, PA) 14-0
1999 – Evangel Christian Eagles (Shreveport, LA) 14-0
1998 – De La Salle Spartans (Concord, CA) 12-0
1997 – Central Bucks CB West (Doylestown, PA) 15-0
1996 – Hampton Crabbers (Hampton, VA) 14-0
1995 – Berwick Bulldogs (Berwick, PA) 15-0

NEW YORK, NY – Metropolitan New York Football Writers Association Media Release – January 8, 2014
For Information: Dennis Wilson, President (973-364-0605)

Contact Webmaster

Hoover City Schools
2810 Metropolitan Way, Hoover, Ala. 35243

If you need assistance accessing content on this website, please call 205-439-1000

Get Adobe Reader