Hoover City Schools

HCS Teacher Named "2013 ACCESS Teacher of the Year" back button

News Image
View more pictures

10-June-2013 (HCS) – Hoover High School science teacher Mr. Jeff Johnson has been named the first-ever “ACCESS Teacher of the Year.”  ACCESS, an acronym which stands for “Alabama Connecting Classrooms, Educators and Students Statewide,” is a program administered by the Alabama State Department of Education (ALSDE).  ALSDE will recognize a host of ACCESS award recipients this week at an awards ceremony in Birmingham. 

Below begins the official ALSDE news release announcing Mr. Johnson and others as recipients of 2012 ACCESS awards:

The Alabama Connecting Classrooms, Educators, and Students Statewide (ACCESS) Distance Learning Program is recognizing five individuals who are broadening awareness of a program that aims to provide an infrastructure that delivers equitable, quality learning opportunities for all high school students. The recipients of the inaugural ACCESS Awards will be recognized and presented with their awards during the 2013 Alabama Educational Technology Conference (AETC) held at the Birmingham Jefferson Convention Complex (BJCC) from June 11-13, 2013. ACCESS was launched on November 1, 2004. The distance education initiative offers opportunities for students at their local community schools that would have otherwise not been possible by providing a blended learning model that provides resources, connectivity and professional development.

Larry Raines, Program Administrator for ACCESS, said the awards recognition program was created as a way “to recognize the people in the five key positions who work so hard to make ACCESS a success.” Some of the state winners could be eligible for and nominated for national distance learning awards, Raines added.  Among the criteria for the first ACCESS Awards are work and diligence that had a positive impact on teaching and learning using the ACCESS program; improvement of the quality of education in Alabama’s schools; work that reflects the mission and goals of the nominee’s school; and utilization of technology to advance education in Alabama. The winners were selected by a panel from nominations sent in by the three ACCESS Support Centers at The University of Alabama, Troy University, and Madison City Board of Education.  Awards recipients are:

ACCESS Administrator of the Year:
Laura McBride, Principal, Brookwood High School, Tuscaloosa County Schools

ACCESS Teacher of the Year:
Jeff Johnson, Science Teacher, Hoover High School, Hoover City Schools

ACCESS Counselor of the Year:
Vickie Looser, Counselor, Lanett High School, Lanett City Schools

ACCESS Facilitator of the Year:
Staci Williams Toole, Northview High School, Dothan City Schools

ACCESS Student of the Year:
Frances Ann Hudson, Fayetteville High School, Talladega County Schools

The awards will be presented at 1:30 p.m. on Wednesday, June 12, in East Hall, Ballroom B, of the BJCC. The 2013 Alabama Educational Technology Conference will kick off with ACCESS Teacher and Staff Day for active teachers, facilitators, and interested professionals from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. June 11.

One of the highlights of that day will be the keynote address given by Jeff Utecht, an internationally renowned speaker who will share his wealth of knowledge of interacting with high school students around the world through distance learning programs.

Contact Webmaster

Hoover City Schools
2810 Metropolitan Way, Hoover, Ala. 35243

If you need assistance accessing content on this website, please call 205-439-1000

Get Adobe Reader