Hoover City Schools

« Back to news list
American Football Monthly Names Niblett Southwest Regional Coach of the Year

 Hoover BUCS Head Football Coach Josh Niblett
Hoover BUCS Head Football Coach Josh Niblett
View more pictures

North Palm Beach, FL, January 15 - American Football Monthly, the number one resource for coaches, has announced their college and high school coaches of the year for 2012. A total of six college coaches were named winners in the classifications Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, NAIA, and Junior College

Six high school coaches of the year were also selected. They include a National Coach of the Year as well as five regional winners – East, Southeast, Midwest, Southwest, and West.

The college Coaches of the Year:

FBS – Brian Kelly, Notre Dame: Kelly led the Irish to a 12-0 season and a place in the National Championship Game. It was Notre Dame’s first undefeated season since 1988. Kelly also won the award after the 2008 season when he was head coach at Cincinnati.

FCS – Bobby Wilder, Old Dominion: In only their third year of competition – after a 69-year layoff – ODU finished 11-2 and were selected for the FCS playoffs.

Division II – Aaron Keen, Minnesota State-Mankato: Keen was appointed acting head coach before the start of the 2012 season. He then led Minnesota State to a 13-1 record with their only loss coming in the D-II playoffs to eventual champion Valdosta State.

Division III – Larry Kehres, University of Mount Union: In the D-III title game, Mount Union beat Saint Thomas, 28-10, for their 11th championship in the last 19 years. Kehres’ record at Mount Union is 182-7 since 2000.

NAIA – Steve Ryan, Morningside: Ryan and Morningside had the best season in the school’s history with a 13-1 record. Their only loss was in the NAIA title game to Marian University, 27-24 in overtime.

JUCO – Steve Stohmeier, Iowa Western Community College – IWCC was the only undefeated junior college in 2012, going 13-0, and beating Butler, 27-7, in the NJCAA title game.


The high school Coaches of the Year:

National Coach of the Year – Gary Joseph, Katy High School (TX): Katy finished 16-0 and won the State 5A-II title. Katy defeated Cedar Hill, 35-24 in the championship game, played at Cowboys Stadium. It was the school’s seventh state title.

East Regional Coach of the Year – Art Walker, North Allegheny High School (PA):

Walker and North Allegheny won the State AAAA title and completed an undefeated 16-0 season.

Southeast Regional Coach of the Year – Brian Hales, Butler High School (NC): Butler won the State 4A Championship and finished with a 15-0 record.

Midwest Regional Coach of the Year – Jayson West, Lawrence Central High School: LCHS won the State 5A Championship and finished 15-0.

Southwest Regional Coach of the Year – Josh Niblett, Hoover High School (AL):

Hoover won the State 6A Championship and finished 15-0.

West Regional coach of the Year – Butch Goncharoff, Bellevue High School (WA):

Bellevue finished the year undefeated (14-0) and won the State 3A Championship.


For more information, contact Rex Lardner at American Football Monthly – 800-537-4271 x 329 or rlardner@afmmedia.com

Contact Webmaster

Hoover City Schools
2810 Metropolitan Way, Hoover, Ala. 35243

If you need assistance accessing content on this website, please call 205-439-1000

Get Adobe Reader